What fleet is in Ontario?

Moderator: GreenLake

What fleet is in Ontario?

Postby rossinvrland » Tue Oct 03, 2006 11:59 am

Hi,
I just looked at the listing at http://forum.daysailer.org/dsa_fleets.php & from what I can tell, there's no contact in the Ontario-Quebec region. Does that mean that everyone up here is an independent?
I'm new to the O'Day DS, but I'm loving every minute I spend on it! Not ready for racing for a year or two, but I'd be interested to know if anyone else is nearby.
Ross
rossinvrland

Postby Marv Irwin » Tue Oct 03, 2006 8:06 pm

Hello Ross, ( in VR land)

Greetings from Sudbury. Lake Ramsey had a very active fleet many years ago, but the boats have slowly been decommissioned, sold, etc. My Daysailer was once part of the Lake Ramsey group. I used to live in Big Bay Point so I'm familiar with Lake Simcoe.......it will be a great lake for daysailing.....Good luck in your search for Daysailer colleagues in Southern Ontario.

Marv (In Northern Ontario)
Marv
Marv Irwin

Postby jpclowes » Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:22 am

Never really thought of Barre as Southern Ontario, but maybe thats just me. :D I think there are a few active DS'ers in Canandagua, NY. That might not be too far if you include a trip on the Toronto-Rochester Fast Ferry. If there is anything I can do from afar, (Ohio technically borders Ontario after all, even if that border is in the middle of Lake Erie,) let me know!
J .P. Clowes
Eastern Great Lakes Regional V.P.
DSI 14083
jpclowes

Postby rossinvrland » Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:28 pm

Marv,
Perhaps one day I'll see you up there! I was planning a trip to the North Channel at least....one day. Lake Ramsey is a great size; though easy to get lost in if you're not careful, I imagine. You have a nice playground there.