Two-piece mast?

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS1. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

Two-piece mast?

Postby jonnycat » Wed Aug 05, 2020 11:26 pm

Hi all, I am new to sailing and considering getting a DS1 for learning. The seller describes the mast as a "two piece, non-racing mast." What are the implications of a two piece mast? I know it would be easier to store, but is it less sturdy than a one-piece? What came stock with these boats?

On another issue, I read that these boats are limited to winds under 15kts; if the winds get stronger, is there any mechanism to furling or reefing the sail(s) to allow safe sailing at higher winds?

Finally, I like the cuddy cabin that these boats have. Is this space just for storage, or do people convert them into a habitable area (is it even big enough for that)?

Thanks!
jonnycat

Re: Two-piece mast?

Postby tomodda » Thu Aug 06, 2020 4:19 pm

Hi Jonnycat!

Welcome to the forum. Answering your question in pieces (ha!):