Introduction - New DS 1 owner

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS1. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

Introduction - New DS 1 owner

Postby itsmeken » Fri Mar 11, 2022 3:05 pm

Just wanted to introduce myself as a new DS 1 owner and member of this Forum. Just brought her home yesterday. I have already benefited greatly from this community of DS owners and it was instrumental to me purchasing one. So, thank you! Since I am new to this boat and this type of sailing I have much to learn. I may break the Search feature of this forum. :D
1958 Day Sailer 1
itsmeken

Re: Introduction - New DS 1 owner

Postby tomodda » Fri Mar 11, 2022 4:28 pm

Welcome aboard! Where do you sail?
tomodda

Postby itsmeken » Fri Mar 11, 2022 5:03 pm

tomodda wrote:Welcome aboard! Where do you sail?

Thanks Tom for the welcome! I sail out of Alamitos Bay, California. However, I purchased the DS 1 for Utah lakes while teaching some of my grandchildren how to sail. Until I move it up there I'll be shaking out the rigging and learning how to sail it safely and moderately. As an adult I've been sailing larger boats (35'-45') and haven't sailed a dinghy since the summer of my 16th year (laser). Also, I have only sailed in open ocean and coastal harbors. So, I'm on the front end of this learning curve. My primary goal is to offer my grandchildren a safe and fun sailing experience so the will want to continue sailing and ultimate learn how to sail.

Thank you again for the welcome and all the knowledge you have shared on this forum.
1958 Day Sailer 1
itsmeken

Postby tomodda » Tue Mar 15, 2022 9:56 am