Ratchet Block Refitting

Moderator: GreenLake

Ratchet Block Refitting

Postby FlyingWasp » Fri Apr 09, 2021 12:11 pm

Hello all,

I bought a DS III at the end of last season and haven't sailed it yet, but i'm trying to make some configuration changes before the coming spring. I've never sailed a daysailer and while I have my ASA keel boat certification, I would say that i'm still learning to sail.

I've been reading the forums and hoping i might get a little guidance here.

First change is replacing the jib cam cleats. I was thinking that I would copy Greenlake's setup which seems ingenious. So i'm planning to install inspection ports in either side to get access to the rail to back with a plate, then I would replace the existing rail with a harken rail and jib cars, then use a 57 Ronstan ratchet block on each (or 40, I have to see what the diameter of my jib sheets is). I would then angle some cam cleats on the centerboard trunk.

Questions:
1. Do i need to replace the rail? They seem fine otherwise. Is there a way to put just new jib cars on and attach a ratchet block?
2. How big of an inspection hole do I need? I was thinking 4", but I have some waterlogged foam in there, so maybe I should think about 6" so I can possibly get more access in case I want to replace the foam?
3. This is dumb, but which side of the cam cleat needs to be angled upwards? Is it the side closest to windward? Or the side where the jib sheet enters the cleat? As everyone can probably tell, i've read enough to know that other folks are angling the cleats, but don't have good enough knowledge around the 'why'.

Second objective is replacing the main sheet blocks. After reading Green Lake's argument for ratchet blocks, i'm sold on the need. However I don't have a great understanding what the ideal setup is. Do i just need to update the boom block with a ratchet? Or should i update the fiddle block that stands up on the centerboard with a ratchet fiddle? Should I do both?