Daysailer II Boweye location

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

Daysailer II Boweye location

Postby hectoretc » Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:15 pm

Hello all, I'm a novice sailer and just purchase a early 70's Daysailer II at an auction. I quickly (via Goole) found my way to this forum, and through it acquired Roger Conrad's fine manual that I read cover to cover the afternoon I received it. In one section Roger speaks of adding an inspection port to the forward bulkhead to repair/replace a missing boweye, and that caught my attention. When I pulled my boat home the first time I had noticed there was no boweye, but rather the boat was tied to the trailer with a number of lines tied to cleats.
I had never seen a boat without one, but know little about sailboats so "what do I know?".
Here finally my question... Is it common for a Daysailer II to not have a boweye? If not, is there a standard position (measured distance) down from the bow point that I should look for a fiberglass fill of the hole?
Why would someone take it off and fill the hole? I would certainly prefer to have one.
Thanks in advance for any help
hectoretc

Bow Eye

Postby Skippa » Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:36 pm

Welcome Hectoretc,
You will find this site has most of the information you will ever need in regard to your boat. So many good people willing to share thier knowledge.
A thought on the missing bow eye. I would look at how the boat sits on the trailer and install the hardware an inch or so higher than the roller or stop on the trailer winch. I will be going to my DSII tomorrow and can get a measurement from the deck to the bow eye if there is no more definative answer before than.
Enjoy your "new" DS, I love mine.
Kevin
Skippa

Postby GreenLake » Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:20 pm

Hector,