Where to start?

Topics primarily or specifically about the DS2. Many topics are of general interest, so please use forum sections on Rigging, Sails, etc. where appropriate.

Moderator: GreenLake

Where to start?

Postby andycayman » Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:31 pm

Hello everyone, I just picked up a 1978 Day Sailer II. She seems to be in reasonable shape but a bit tatty. The chap I purchased the boat from was selling it for someone else, so he could not tell me anything about the boats history apart from the fact that the boat has not been sailed for a few years, and although recently kept indoors it has had an extended period of time sitting outside.

I am brand new to this sailing lark and I have no idea where to start with getting the boat ready for the water. To me she looks tatty but solid, the sails seem old but still fairly crisp, the ropes seem a little crusty so I expect they will need to be replaced.

Things I have noticed so far.
After trailering home we noticed some water draining out of the bung-hole at the bottom of the transom, obviously some residual from the bilge.
The cable that comes out of the front of the housing that holds the swinging keel is totally shot and needs to be replaced, any guidance there?
The round inspection panels appear to be seized closed, any tips on getting them open?
Numerous little dings and gouges in the gelcoat, but I am confident I can fix those.
Some of the gelcoat is a little chalky, again I am confident I can buff it back to a reasonable state.
Some hints of rust around most metal fittings but it seems to be just surface stuff.

Apart from the above, I really have no idea what I should be looking for or what to inspect so that I can put a plan together to make the boat safe for our lessons! I got the boat for a fair price I think, so I am ready to spend some cash to get her in good shape.