Any "Tricks" on using PM ?

General announcements and information specific to the DaySailer forums.

Moderator: GreenLake

Any "Tricks" on using PM ?

Postby RobH912 » Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:45 pm

Tried to send my first PM today, but the PM seems to be "stuck" in the Outbox after I hit Send.

This board looks like many others I have been on, but wondering if there was a trick to get the PM to leave my outbox send?

Thanks!
Rob
Rob

DS1 #2444
Cape Cod
Eastham, MA
RobH912

Re: Any "Tricks" on using PM ?

Postby GreenLake » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:11 pm

The "trick" is for the recipient to actually read it.

If contacting a seller that has given other contact information, don't necessarily expect that they monitor this forum or have notification set for PMs.

If contacting other forum members in the off-season, don't expect a quick reply.
~ green ~ lake ~ ~
GreenLake

Postby RobH912 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:08 pm

GreenLake thanks for the reply.

I am pretty new to the DS Forum and my question was specifically about having my first attempted PM "stuck" in my Outbox. I was trying to reach a seller that had recently posted a DSI for sale. PM just sat in the Outbox marked in RED. I then posted a couple replies to the seller that I was trying to reach him, as well as posting this initial question on using PMs. I was wondering if i wasn't doing something correctly.

Those posts to the board went out immediately and posted, all while my PM just sat in my outbox. I returned later to the computer and saw that the PM had finally sent, and also that the boat was sold. :(

Looking to get a DSI or II for summer 2019, have spent a lot of time on the web site, have learned a great deal from posts, purchased a copy of Rodger's book, and see that you do a LOT as the moderator.

Thank you for all of your work and a Happy New Years to you and others on the DS Forum.

Rob
Rob

DS1 #2444
Cape Cod
Eastham, MA
RobH912

Postby GreenLake » Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:32 pm