New sailer /boat ID

Moderator: GreenLake

New sailer /boat ID

Postby Pozos » Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:27 am

Hello,
I am new to sailing and considering stepping up from a sunfish. There is a daysailer for sale reportedly in good shape and reasonably priced but the owner does not know the year of manufacture. He does not have ability to send a photo but I can go take a look (at some distance). He sent me these #s:
Serial# 20209
Class# 3693

I want a boat with positive floatation for safety--- older children and friends may sail.

I plan to moor on a lake in Maine.

I would love some help identifying if this is a daysailer 1 or daysailer 11 as I understand the daysailer 1 did not have floatation built in. He also told me that the boat is not self bailing.
Thank you.
Jake
Pozos

Re: New sailer /boat ID

Postby rnlivingston » Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:45 am

Hi Jake

Judging by the numbers, I would say this is a 1969 Daysailer 1. The Daysailer 1 does have flotation in the form of seat tanks and a bow tank. More than likely, the foam in the tanks are waterlogged and need to be replaced. While a bailer can be installed, they were not standard equipment on this boat. For your situation, I would recommend looking for a Daysailer II.
Roger Livingston
DS 6872
Mariner 4096
rnlivingston

Postby rnlivingston » Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:49 am

Here is a nice DS II in York , ME

http://maine.craigslist.org/boa/4465087173.html
Roger Livingston
DS 6872
Mariner 4096
rnlivingston

Postby GreenLake » Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:56 am

The DS2 has a double hull, but it's not necessarily more than an air space. Meaning that it could fill during a capsize, if there are any leaks. The DS1 has three separate tanks, one under each seat and a third in front. They should be foam filled, but, over time, the foam may have been exposed to water. So, for both DS1 and DS II you would want to make sure that
1) any foam that's in the boat isn't waterlogged
2) replace foam/air with better material