New to sailing and Daysailer's

Moderator: GreenLake

New to sailing and Daysailer's

Postby Oaks » Tue Aug 09, 2016 1:53 pm

Hello everyone,

I just wanted to introduce myself. I am fairly new to sailing, I am attempting to restore an old O'day daysailer. I am looking forward to getting it on the water, either late this season or the next. I live in New Bedford, MA. I'm sure I will have plenty of questions, and thank you ahead time for any advice or help.

-Josh
Oaks

Re: New to sailing and Daysailer's

Postby DigitalMechanic » Tue Aug 09, 2016 2:58 pm

Congrats on your new to you boat, and welcome to the forum!

I am new to sailing as well. Acquired my boat last summer (July 2015) and worked on it until around December until I got what I thought was a solid seaworthy boat. I probably would have had it to that point sooner if I knew more, but did not know much and I did a lot of trial and error sails coming back each time (sometimes rather quickly) with new ideas/thoughts or things to repair or change. I can say of all my trials, the scariest one was a standing rigging failure. So, that would be my recommendation for a starting point (for safety reasons), but there are plenty of other things to check as well. Here is the "Punch List" of things to check a few guys created for newly acquired boats http://forum.daysailer.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=5115. If you plan to put the boat in at a crowed ramp/area, where you cannot launch or retrieve under sail, make sure that your outboard is in solid condition as well (Change spark plug, fuel filter, inspect gas lines for leaks, replace lower unit gear oil, makes sure water flows through it correctly, replace impeller and/or pump, etc)

(Rudy Nickerson) D&R Marine is the O'Day parts supplier, and is located in Assonet, MA just south of you. http://www.drmarine.com Due to your adjacent locale, I imagine the speed at which you receive replacement parts will make the rest of us jealous.