Rigging for DS1 Main only vs. Main and Jib

Moderator: GreenLake

Rigging for DS1 Main only vs. Main and Jib

Postby guido » Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:41 pm

Hi,

I am new to the fleet and and have been wondering how folks set up their boats when switching from single-handed Main only sailing to double handed main and Jib. My DS1 came with Doyle sails and the Doyle web site tuning guide discusses sailing with a full rig and the mast raked slightly aft aft. But the single handed sailors seem to rig the boat raked forward to get a more balanced helm. Is there a way to split the difference and get decent performance in both modes without having to fiddle the step and make big rig tension changes?

Thanks!

Guido
QYC DS Fleet
guido

Solo Sailing

Postby Baysailer » Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:05 pm

Guido, Welcome. I think you'll like the DS and our little sailing commune.

Most of the sailing I do is solo so I might be able to give some insight on this (a lot of it from non DS class boats so there could be some variance). When the wind is light to medium you will find you can manage both sails with little issue, but when it starts to pipe a bit and you find it harder to keep the boat flat without flogging the sails its time to start doing things.

First thing to do is flatten the sail by tightening up the outhaul and downhaul (or cunningham) and playing the vang. If you have a traveller it would be a good time to let it out some. I don't have a traveller so I use vang sheeting there, use the vang to control the boom rise and the mainsheet to actually let it out. Another thing you can do before you reduce the sail area is to sail on the jib. Here you are relaxing the main and using the jib more actively for drive. The main is more for balance and helm control. For me this has worked well with the DS but thats just my experience.